Trick or Treat, Sow Some Seeds, Now You Have Something Good to eat!

Hey, There! I hope you all are having a fantastic week. School and work has kept me super busy, but I have made time to sow a variety of seeds. To figure out what grows best in your environmental climate, then I would just do a quick Google search. I think it’s safe to say that we don’t experience a real winter in South/Central Texas, so a few things that are great to grow in San Marcos are onions, spinach, broccoli, lettuce, radishes, turnips, garlic, etc. You can buy seeds at your local stores or online. A website that I suggest is Burpee.com because it has a variety of seeds, plants, and supplies.

Rocket Fuel, gardening, container gardening, student, spinach

Using Rocket Fuel – Photo Courtesy of Danielle Martinez.

Almost 2 weeks ago, Sunday the 18th, I took a trip to my local Garden-Ville and I found out that you don’t have to necessarily sow seeds in smaller containers depending on the seed. For vegetables like broccoli that will need a large container, it is okay to start them in those containers to avoid transplanting. Keep in mind that specifications are usually on the packet of seeds. On Sunday, I was really in the gardening mood so I planted quite a variety of seeds.

To be honest, I was quite intimidated and nervous about sowing seeds for the first time because it seems so complicated. Just like anything else you attempt in life, sometimes it takes trial and error to get it down.

Don’t be discouraged if you don’t get it right the first time.

container gardening, gardening, broccoli, spinach, hot peppers, oregano, dahlia, cilantro, squash

October 18th, 2015 – Photo Credit: Danielle Martinez

Sowing seeds is quite simple, actually. On the packet of seeds you will find about how deep and how far apart the seeds should be sown. To nourish and aid the seeds in healthy growing, I use Rocket Fuel in the process of sowing (pictured above). Just put some underneath and on top of the seeds, then cover with soil. I planted oregano, broccoli, spinach, hot peppers, cilantro, squash, dahlia, & heliomeris. The weather may not be ideal for squash, but I thought I’d try anyways.

The seeds are really cheap and the potting soil I buy at Garden-Ville is about $7. For those who don’t want to spend the money on a decorative containers, then get creative & repurpose containers! A few ideas are coffee cans, milk cartons, wooden drawers, etc. In the end, the money is worth it because you’ll save money on buying these items at the grocery store.

Squash, container gardening, college budget gardening, student, fall gardening

Squash 10/27/15 – Photo Credit: Danielle Martinez

Fast forward to this week and I have sprouting seeds! It’s truly awesome to be able to watch your plants grow and eventually eat the products. Needless to say, I am super excited to eat a fresh spinach salad and pair fresh broccoli with ranch dressing. Now, I just wait for the seeds to continue to sprout and transplant when needed. I also meant to mention that watering daily is essential for the nourishment of the seeds.

broccoli, container gardening. college budget gardening, Fall gardening, student

Broccoli 10/27/15 – Photo Credit: Danielle Martinez

I hope that you all are able to plant your seedlings and have some sprouting seeds soon! This hobby is so rewarding and if you have any questions, comments, or suggestions, please do so below! I’d love your feedback.

Next week, I have a delicious recipe I want to share with you all, so stay tuned for that!

Happy Gardening,

Danielle

Leave a Reply

